December 21, 2011

  • Relationships in terms of Schrodinger’s Cat

    Greetings viewers….the few that I have left.  True, I always say this and always fail, but I will try to be more up to date with my blogs.  I know, you’ve all been sooo disappointed by my lack of entries and wish that I had a twitter account.  Sadly, a twitter account is something I will probably never get.  Now, onto the topic of the day.

    I was recently in conversation with some friends of mine about Schrodinger’s Cat.  I had to write a paper on Judaism and Physics and included my rudimentary understanding of quantum physics.  It then dawned on me that a lot of people carry about their relationships quantum terms.  How is this you say?  Surely you jest?  Well, let’s see.  This can work for either sex.  Bear with me here.

    First, Schrodinger’s Cat.  Basically this scenario places a cat in a box where after one hour there is a 50% chance that it will be dead.  The Copenhagen interpretation states that until the observer actually looks in the box (the collapsing effect), the cat is in a state of both dead AND alive.  Schrodinger proposed this cat paradox as a critique of the Copenhagen interpretation of quantum physics.  In reality, of course we “know” that the cat is either dead or alive after one hour without ever having opened the box.  The cat is not in some “smeared” state of dead and alive. 

    Taken to relationships, I would think that most people go into relationships with Schrodinger’s interpretation.  There are boyfriend/girlfriend (BF/GF) materials in people that we consider as potentials.  This is an assumption that we make, a probability, but at a given moment they are either BF/GF or not.  They do not exists in a “smeared” state.  Even after time has past, and a switch has been made, they are one or the other, not both.  It’s like looking at the Wittgenstein picture of the rabbit-duck.  When you look at it, it is either a duck or a rabbit, but never both at the same time.  Of course this also presumes that you know what a duck and a rabbit is.  The point of dating here is to test whether someone is or isn’t a BF/GF, or have that material.

    For others however, these people seem to approach their relationships from the Copenhagen point of view.  The potential is there all the time, but BF/GF exists in a “smeared” state.  A person could be BF/GF material at any time, but becomes so only after being “observed” as being so.  This is kinda like the whole being friends until something clicks scenario.  These people don’t really date, but “hangout” more.

    Ok….so this is it for now….I’ll get deeper in my next blog.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *