July 9, 2012

  • Dream #1

    I’ve started my dream journal again.  So you, dear readers, will get a glimpse into my unconscious mind.  Hope it’s entertaining and let the analysis begin!  Here’s one I had last week.

    Sometimes actual people appear in my dreams, like friends, family, etc.  But for the first time She made an appearance.  I don’t know what preceded the dream sequence, but this part was the last thing I remember before I woke up.

    The scene was in a pasture of sorts.  There was thick, lush grass on one side by a small wooded area with open, green fields that stretched out into the countryside.  Now there are some dreams where you just watch what’s happening, but there are others where you are a character too.  This was one was a bit of both.  I had spotted Her emerging from the wooded area on a big, light chestnut colored horse, the kind that had a bit of shaggy hair over the hooves.  She was dressed in riding gear.  Knee-high black boots, white pants, a top of some kind but I don’t remember what.  No helmet, you know the black round kind with the chin strap.  Alongside her was a dog/fox hybrid.  It was like a squat, fat dog, but with fox features.  It even walked like a fox. 

    She kicked the horse into a cantor and soon it was flat out galloping.  The “dox” kept pace, even frolicking dangerously close to the horse’s legs as if goading the horse into play.  The horse more than obliged as it slowed and played back.  All the while She was smiling and laughing atop the horse as if three good friends had gone out for the day. 

    I don’t remember if She went back to the wood or not, but I ended up going to a shaded area around a bend near the wood where there stood an old looking house.  Gray flaking paint, wooden steps.   I rang the doorbell.  It was one of those old metal round ones with the black button in the middle.  There was a layer of rust on it.  The buzz was electric sounding and echoed after it stopped ringing.  She came to answer it, but stopped short and turned around.  I don’t know if She saw me, but shortly later the keeper of the house came and let me in.  We walked through the doorway, but upon entering the house, it was mansion like.  Polished wood everywhere, libraries on walls, and a long spacious open great hall. 

    I asked, “What’s the room and board?” 

    She replied, “Not much, but first you’re going to clean and polish your shoes.  Go up the stairs and you’ll find something to use.”  I went up and found the items.  Perry Ellis shoe polish?  I took off my shoes and noticed they were black dress shoes that somehow were splattered with a thin layer of mud.  I hastily tried to clean the mud off with a rag, but it didn’t work well.  Then I noticed a worn brush off to the side, which of course worked much better.

    Once my shoes were clean, I went back downstairs and found dinner was ready.  I sat down with a group of people, though I can’t remember specific features or who they were.  She was conspicuously absent though.  Dinner was a pasta fagioli, but there weren’t enough bowls.  The keeper of the house rectified this by using a plastic top as her “bowl,” the kind that comes with sheet cakes.  We all had our portions ladled out, but I got up and went to the front porch where I saw Her.

    She had changed attire into a summer dress.  It was a plaidish design, white and navy.  Not big ones, but smaller ones.  I really couldn’t tell since she was standing in the shadows.  The shoulder straps were about where an inch thick, with a slightly angled neckline.  The dress came down to about the knees but there weren’t any frills or pleats.  The dress didn’t need a belt since it hugged her frame, and the rest draped very well.  I guess you could call it a tank dress….and yes I had to look this up.  She was standing sideways, looking off in the distance when I walked up to her.  Her left foot, back against the porch railing, her left arm extended for support.

    We both locked eyes for a moment before simultaneously looking toward the setting sun.

    I said, “I didn’t expect you to be here yet.” 

    She sheepishly grinned.  “Well, I came a little early.”

    I didn’t tell her I had seen her riding the horse that day, nor did I ask her why she wasn’t at dinner.  I had the feeling though that we had arranged to be there that day.  Then I woke up.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *